Am I a geek or a nerd?


Texas, why must you toy with me?
March 18, 2010, 9:53 am
Filed under: Nerd | Tags: , , ,

Texas has been a constant lately. I’ve never been, I don’t know that I’ve ever really wanted to go. I’m sure its lovely, I’ve seen Austin City Limits on PBS.  I taught the Mexican-American War (false pretenses, anyone?). I once had a layover in Houston on my way to Costa Rica. That’s about it.  And then we get two evil forces converge to bring Texas front and center.

Evil Force #1: WTC/Ironman and My Coach.  WTC is evil. Everyone knows it. Where do they get off charging over $500 for Ironman races, denying prizes to pros due to crazy rules changes, and not enforcing the draft rules at Clearwater? And yet I register for their events. My coach is clearly in cahoots with them. I don’t even remember why I registered for Lonestar, I just know that I’m going to Galveston in 5 weeks and I’m practically living on my bike right now. Saddle sores anyone? However, I just want the Lonestar IM to know, I’m working hard to break you, my FTP is up, my miles are up, my running is the best its been in years and my swimming is putting you to shame. Bring it.

Evil Force #2: The Texas Board of Education. Are you kidding me with these people? The crazy changes I posted about last month have passed. Never mind expert historian advice. Never mind reality even.  For the love of God (or not) they’ve managed to cut Thomas Jefferson out of a list of figures whose writing inspired revolutions in the 18th and 19th century.  I’m all riled up becuase I know what their intent is. Look at the language changes they made:

See, you can see what they are trying to do, changing words like “role” to “leadership” trying to sway the direction of the content and remove any opportunity to debate whether the role really represents leadership. The Econ bit is an oversimplification and might leave the someone less knowledgable to think that free enterprise never ever existed before Americans demanded it. But at the same time, I’m not as panicked as I was when first read about TBofE. See, if I were a teacher in Texas I probably would change nothing based on this language change. I would still ask my students to examine the presidencies of Nixon and Reagan by discussing various view points, solutions, programs, and outcomes. Its unlikely that most US History teachers will change their tack, start talking up Nixon and Reagan as leaders without flaws, and spend a bunch of time on Schlafly. Seriously, if I had a nickel for every teacher who hauled ass at the end of the school year in order to fit in the 70s, 80s and 90s I’d have a shit ton of nickels.

So nice try Texas. But I’m winning.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

